

Jamie Merrigan, Q.C. Dean A. Porter J. Annette Bennett Robby D. Ash Glen G. Seaborn Melissa May Adam J. Sparkes, Q.C. Giselle Jones Alannah Dawson Rebekkah Fox Toll Free: 1 877 634-3136 E-Mail: info@poolealthouse.ca www.poolealthouse.ca ■ CORNER BROOK
Telephone: 709 634 -3136
Fax: 709 634 8247/9815
Western Trust Building
49-51 Park Street
Corner Brook, NL

Canada A2H 2X1

☐ Happy Valley-Goose Bay Telephone: 709 896-8777 Fax: 709 896-8779 49A Grenfell Street PO Box 1450, Station B Happy Valley-Goose Bay, NL Canada A0P 1E0

September 14, 2021

Via Electronic Mail

Edward P. Poole, Q.C., Retired

D. Paul Althouse, Q.C., Retired

Newfoundland and Labrador Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities 120 Torbay Road P.O. Box 21040 St. John's, NL A1A 5B2

Attention:

Ms. G. Cheryl Blundon

Director of Corporate Services and Board Secretary

Dear Ms. Blundon:

Re:

Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro 2022 Capital Budget Application

Requests for Information – IC-NLH-1 to IC-NLH-2

Please find attached the Requests for Information of the Island Industrial Customers Group in relation to the above noted Application.

We trust you find the foregoing satisfactory.

Yours very truly,

POOLE ALTHOUSE

Dean A. Porter

DAP/ag Enclosure J:\Clients\4648-60\NLBCPU, Ltr2.doc CC

Industrial Customers Group Paul Coxworthy, Stewart McKelvey Denis Fleming, Cox & Palmer

Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro Shirley Walsh

Newfoundland Power Dominic J. Foley Lindsay S.A. Hollett Regulatory Email

Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities Jacqui H. Glynn PUB Official Email

Consumer Advocate
Dennis Browne, Q.C., Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis
Stephen F. Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis
Sarah G. Fitzgerald, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis
Bernice Bailey, Browne Fitzgerald Morgan & Avis
Bernard M. Coffey, Q.C.

Labrador Interconnected Group Senwung F. Luk, Olthuis Kleer Townshend LLP Julia K.G. Brown, Olthuis Kleer Townshend LLP

IN THE MATTER OF the Public Utilities Act, RSNL 1990, (the "Act"); and

IN THE MATTER OF an Application by Newfoundland and Labrador Hydro ("Hydro") for an Order approving: (i) its 2022 Capital Budget pursuant to s. 41(1) of the Act; (ii) its 2022 capital purchases and construction projects in excess of \$50,000.00 pursuant to s.41(3)(a) of the Act; and (iii) for an order pursuant to s. 78 of the Act fixing and determining its average rate base for 2020.

1 REQUESTS FOR INFORMATION OF THE 2 ISLAND INDUSTRIAL CUSTOMERS GROUP 3 4 IC-NLH-1 – IC-NLH-2 5 6 ISSUED SEPTEMBER 14th, 2021 7 8 **Specifically Assigned Assets** 9 10 IC-NLH-1 With reference to Section 4.4 - Specifically Assigned Assets for Industrial 11 Customers, please confirm that no proposed or projected capital expenditures contemplated by the 2022 Capital Budget Application (or Hydro's 5-year Capital 12 Plan) will be specifically assigned to NARL Refining Limited Partnership. Corner 13 14 Brook Pulp & Paper Limited or Vale Canada Limited. 15 16 IC-NLH-2 With reference to RFI IC-NLH-1 above, should Hydro intend to specifically assign 17 any project to either NARL Refining Limited, Corner Brook Pulp & Paper Limited 18 or Vale Canada Limited, please confirm which such projects will be specifically 19 assigned, the detailed justification for each specific assignment and to which of 20 NARL Refining Limited Partnership, Corner Brook Pulp & Paper Limited or Vale 21 Canada Limited such Project(s) will be specifically assigned to.

<u>DATED</u> at Corner Brook, in the Province of Newfoundland and Labrador, this 14th day of September, 2021.

Per:

Dean A. Porter

Per:
Paul L. Coxworthy

COX & PALMER
Per:

Denis Fleming

TO: The Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities Attention: Cheryl Blundon, Board Secretary

TO: The Board of Commissioners of Public Utilities Attention: Jacqui H. Glynn

TO: Newfoundland & Labrador Hydro Attention: Shirley Walsh

TO: Newfoundland Power Inc. Attention: Dominic J. Foley

TO: Newfoundland Power Inc. Attention: Lindsay S.A. Hollett

TO: Consumer Advocate
Attention: Dennis Browne, Q.C.

TO: Consumer Advocate
Attention: Stephen F. Fitzgerald, Sarah G. Fitzgerald, Bernice Bailey,
Bernard M. Coffey

TO: Labrador Interconnected Group Attention: Senwung Luk, Julia K.G. Brown